⚡ Ford Lightning Forum ⚡ banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
You guys realize what it’s gonna take to wire that charger into most of your houses. I’m in the process of building a house and I’ve specifically located the panel in the garage, mostly for aesthetics, but it did make for a shorter run to wire the charger. I’m an electrician. Unfortunately even with the panel in my garage I have to run the wire to the opposite side. I have to do some more research into the wires and obviously I don’t have the specs of the unit yet but it looks like 2-2-2-4 ser is going to be the best option for most people. God for bid your run is over a certain distance and you have to size the wire for a voltage drop. Let alone how much of your house you may have to open up for the install. Frankly it’s going to be a motherfucker for most people and expensive as all hell

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hmm so 2224 aluminum ser at 2.50 a ft +\- could work. Basically your wire for a 100 amp sub panel derated for an appliance circuit. Is there any info about the connection on the charger side? Breaker is about 50$ unless you live in an area with the 2020 new code then it may need to be gfci? Not on that code yet but that could be a problem. Idk if the charger has a plug or it’s (likely) direct wire. Hopefully it’s rated for the aluminum wire or there will be some additional funny business. Might not be horrible price wise for materials, but running that cable won’t always be fun.

·
Registered
3 Posts
i was wondering the same. I have a 200amp panel that is full, looks like I will need to add a 100amp sub-panel then to run the wire to other side of 3 car garage. Seems the best option is to share dryer circuit and add plug in garage.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·